According to reports, Facebook-owned WhatsApp would allow users to hide their online status from anyone who cannot be trusted.
According to Android Police, new privacy capabilities are being developed to provide control over who may view certain portions of a user’s profile, as discovered by WABetaInfo.
At the moment, “Last Seen,” “Profile Picture,” and “About” can be viewed by everyone, contacts, or no one at all. According to the article, there are no customizable choices.
Those restrictions will be eliminated shortly, since WhatsApp is presently testing the option to block particular contacts from seeing your status, according to the company.
With this feature, users will be able to conceal their “Last Seen” time from a select group of individuals without completely removing it.
This option will also enable profile photographs and biographies, giving you far more control over your privacy than was previously available.
Disabling “Last Seen” will continue to be a two-way street; if a user conceals it from a group of individuals in their contact list, WhatsApp will hide their information in return.
Although the functionality has been discovered on iOS, it is expected to go out to all handsets once it is complete.
Previously, the popular messaging app said that it is working on see once messages, which would disappear after just being viewed once.