Home » Odisha State Announces 100% Tax Exemption, Registration Fee Waiver For Electric Vehicles

Odisha State Announces 100% Tax Exemption, Registration Fee Waiver For Electric Vehicles

by RTD Journal
Odisha State Announces 100% Tax Exemption, Registration Fee Waiver For Electric Vehicles

In an effort to promote the widespread adoption of electric vehicles, the Odisha Regional Government will exempt motor vehicle tax (MV) and motor vehicle registration fees.

The Odisha Department of Trade and Transport said on Saturday in a press release that the provincial government had waived all vehicle taxes and registration fees for all battery-operated vehicles. The Odisha Department of Trade and Transport in a tweet said, “Exercising the powers conferred on subsection (ii) of subsection (1) of section 15 of the Odisha Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1975, the national government has granted a 100% exemption. Tax and Registration Fees for EVs. ”

The release will take effect during the national EV policy period, which expires on 31 December 2025. The Odisha Electric 2021 Vehicle Policy was announced by the national government on September 2.

The Odisha EV policy was developed in partnership with NITI Aayog, with the aim of encouraging people to consider purchasing electric vehicles. To increase demand and productivity, the national government has recommended the extension of benefits to both consumers and producers under the policy guidelines. The policy provides financial incentives to consumers, electric car manufacturers, battery manufacturers, and rechargeable infrastructure providers.

The Odisha regional government will provide consumers with a 15 per cent subsidy for the basic price of an electric car under a five-year EV policy. Two-wheeled electric customers will receive a maximum of Rs. 5,000 in subsidy, and buyers of three- and four-wheel-drive electricity will receive Rs. 10,000 and Rs. 50,000 in compensation, respectively.

These grants will be added to the benefits provided to customers through the FAME-II Central Government program. The decision is expected to make electric vehicles more affordable for consumers, and is in line with the growing popularity of zero-emission mobility solutions.

SC Mahapatra, Secretary General of Odisha said, “The purpose of this policy is to achieve the adoption of 20% of all motor vehicles registered by 2025 and to promote the manufacture of such vehicles and their components, including battery, in the province. innovation, research and development. ” He said it was time to reduce pollution by stopping the use of fuel-efficient vehicles and speeding up the adoption of electric vehicles, “he said.

Earlier this month, government officials said seven charging stations would be built in Bhubaneswar soon, as management plans to build an integrated electric car infrastructure across the city. Supermarkets, hotels, parking lots, accommodations, workshops, and highways will be prioritized in the selection of locations, they added. Seven charging stations will be installed in the first phase at various locations throughout the city, including near the Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology and SUM hospital.



0 comment

You may also like

Leave a Comment