Home » Major Cabinet Reshuffle: 43 Leaders, Including 11 Women, Take Oath In Union Cabinet Expansion Today

Major Cabinet Reshuffle: 43 Leaders, Including 11 Women, Take Oath In Union Cabinet Expansion Today

by Ankita Mohanty

In a major cabinet reshuffle, as many as 43 leaders have taken oath as ministers in the Modi government on Wednesday. Prior to this event, several Union ministers including Harsh Vardhan and Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank resigned and a number of new entrants met Prime Minister Narendra Modi at his residence here.

BJP’s Narayan Rane, Sarbananda Sonowal, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Ajay Bhatt, Bhupender Yadav, Shobha Karandlaje, Sunita Duggal, Meenakshi Lekhi, Bharati Pawar, Shantanu Thakur and Kapil Patil, JD(U)’s R C P Singh, LJP’s Pashupati Paras and Apna Dal’s Anupriya Patel are some of the prominent names who are joining BJP this session.

Among others, Ashwini Vaishnaw, a Rajya Sabha Member from Odisha has also been inducted as a cabinet minister in the new team.

Ministers of the state including G Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala and Anurag Thakur, Hardeep Singh Puri, Mansukh Mandaviya, RK Singh and Kiran Rijiju have been promoted from their previous position.

The swearing-in ceremony is currently underway at the Darbar Hall at Rashtrapati Bhavan in the presence of President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah among other stalwarts.

Notably, hours before the cabinet expansion at Rashtrapati Bhawan several ministers including Vardhan, Pokhriyal and Sadananda Gowda as also Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar, Minister of State for Education Sanjay Dhotre, Minister of State for Women and Child Development Debasree Chaudhuri, Minister of State for Jal Shakti Rattan Lal Kataria, Minister of State for Environment Babul Supriyo resigned from their positions.

Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thaawarchand Gehlot had submitted his resignment on Tuesday after being made Governor of Karnataka.

This will be their first major reshuffle after Modi assumed charge for a second term in May 2019.

The aim of the reshuffling is to bring ‘young faces and give representation to various social groups and regions in the reshuffle’.

Check out the entire list of new cabinet members:






0 comment

You may also like

Leave a Comment