Home » DC vs RR: Capitals Back To The Pinnacle, Beat Royals by 33 Runs

DC vs RR: Capitals Back To The Pinnacle, Beat Royals by 33 Runs

by Pavitra Shome
DC vs RR: Capitals Back To The Pinnacle, Beat Royals by 33 Runs

Rajasthan Royals square off against Delhi Capitals to regain some momentum and today’s match was a crucial one for them. Royals won the toss and chose to field first. Capitals openers Dhawan and Shaw couldn’t hold the start as well as they were in the previous bout. Shreyash Iyer then stood in and took the team’s run-chase forward providing a needful contribution. Royal’s fielding looked decent enough to limit the opponent team in 154 runs, taking out 6 wickets, which looked really chasable. Capitals currently stand in number 2 at the points table.

Capital took the bowling by storm in the 2nd innings. Rajasthan was not able to find a proper opening as they lost Yashasvi Jaiswal and Liam Livingstone early. Delhi’s bowling was excellent. They broke the momentum of Rajasthan and what looked like a chaseable target, were struggling after a few balls. Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, and Avesh Khan did an impressive piece of work with the ball. Sanju Samson tried to equalize but it was too late to do so. Delhi defeats Rajasthan and jumps into the Pinnacle of the Points Table.

The Rajasthan Royals (often abbreviated as RR) are a franchise cricket team based in JaipurRajasthan, that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Founded in 2008 as one of the initial eight IPL franchises, the team is based at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.] The Royals are known to unearth obscure, high potential talent,as well as for their involvement in a number of controversies and scandals.

The team won the inaugural edition of the IPL under the captaincy of Shane Warne, despite being written off as a title contender by the media and fans. The Royals were also the runners-up of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 under Rahul Dravid‘s captaincy.[6][11]

On 14 July 2015, the verdict reached by a panel appointed by the Supreme Court of India suspended Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings for two years over a 2013 betting scandal, meaning they could not participate in both the 2016 and 2017 IPL tournaments. They returned to the competition for the 2018 season.

The team’s record run-scorer is Ajinkya Rahane with 3098 runs,while the leading wicket-taker is Shane Watson, with 67.


Shreyash Iyer is chosen as the Man Of The Match



0 comment

You may also like

Leave a Comment